Netflix will spend $1m to support Africa’s creative industry via scholarships

Netflix, the international video streaming service has announced that it will spend US$1,000,000 towards the newly-established Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund, (CESF), for film and television students in Sub-Saharan Africa.

gsmarena 001 2

This scholarship fund is part of the global Netflix Creative Equity Fund, which was launched in 2021. It will be used to support various projects over the next five years with the aim of creating a diverse and strong pipeline of creatives all around the globe.

The scholarship fund will pay for tuition, accommodation and study materials at institutions where the beneficiaries are admitted to study in the TV & Film disciplines during the 2022 academic calendar year.

The Netflix CESF will be rolled out in the region during the academic year that begins in 2022. It will begin with an open call in the Southern African Development Community region (SADC), in partnership with Tshikululu Social Investments, a social investment fund management advisory firm, and Tshikululu Social Investments, as the fund administrator/implementing partner in Southern Africa. In due course, we will announce the fund administration partners for East Africa as well as the West and Central Africa regions.

“Netflix is excited about the potential of African storytellers, and we’re committed investing in the long-term future of African storytelling,” states Ben Amadasun (Netflix director of content in Africa).

“We believe that there are great stories from Africa. We want to help students who are passionately involved in the TV and film industry to bring more diverse voices to African storytelling to our global audience.

How it works

The Netflix CESF provides financial assistance through full scholarships at partner higher education institutions (HEIs) in South Africa. This is to support the formal training and qualification of aspiring creators from SADC countries that want to study in South Africa.

These countries are eligible: Angola Botswana Comoros Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini Lesotho Madagascar Malawi Mauritius Mozambique Namibia Seychelles South Africa Tanzania Zambia Zimbabwe

The fund will be available in the SADC region to students who have been admitted to study in the following disciplines:

Get latest news from African Startup ecosystem

Latest stories

You might also like...